Go Back   planetArmor > planetArmor Features > Photos: In-progress Blogs

Photos: In-progress Blogs Post your in-progress photos in a blog-style topic!
Request vBench Photo Upload Access

Old 02-26-2006, 05:58 PM
vBench

OK, I finally have some pics to post in my V-bench! I'm a notoriously slow builder so I probably won't post pics that often, but here is my latest. I started work on this one back before Christmas and I've finally reached the point where I'm ready to start shooting some paint on it. This is the Dragon kit, which by now everyone has heard about so I won't bore you with how nice it is. It's pretty much out of the box except for some Friul tracks and a few small scratched details. I didn't use all the PE in the kit, I feel some of it isn't needed as the styrene parts are very nice.
The zimmerit is milliput and represents a first for me, as it's my first serious try at doing it myself. I have to say the zim is a "love/hate" thing, it's very satisfying knowing I did it myself, but it's still a pain to apply. I'm not totally satisfied with the final look, but I know where I made my mistakes and what I will do differently next time I tackle the stuff, the turret especially came out "messier" than planned. Another first was soldering the supports on the side skirts. I figured it was the perfect opportunity to get some practice as the superglue just wasn't cutting it, and you really don't see the results unless you turn the model upside down. (though I think they turned out well )
Plans for paint and markings are SS102 in Normandy. I had originally planned to go with the crowd and do SS101 but Sam D's build got me thinking the other way, and I've always thought the schemes 102 used were very distinctive. Apologies for the pics, I'm still trying to work out my lighting set up. Just when I think I've got it figured out something happens and I'm not happy with the pics. Anyway here they are, all comments welcome.

Cheers,
Mike

Old 02-26-2006, 06:32 PM
vBench