Old 01-06-2005, 10:47 PM
vBench

Hi Guys,
I just picked up Academy's M4A2 Sherman U.S. Marines & i have a few questions concerning the kit.

(1) i seem to remember reading somewhere that the marking in the kit are not correct! If so, what are some aftermarket suggestions for markings?

(2) I would like to build the kit OOB(if possible) are there any errors in the kit that need to be addressed?

(3)I have also read that the kit represents a late M4A2.where would these have likely been seen? (Iwo,Okinawa, etc...)

(4)Does the kit turret need the cheek armor added to the kit turret? Both side or just one?

Thanks for any help with these questions.

regards
Joey :lol:
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2005, 05:39 PM
vBench

I'm not an expert, but I'll give it a try

(1) I have a pic of one of the decal options, and the pattern of applique wooden armor is quite different than what's in the kit. So it's more a way of picking your subject and adjusting as needed

(2) Major errors? Well, some of the decal options are no M4A2 but rather M4A3. Check out hardcorpsmodels.com for some ref pics

(3) Yes, it's a late M4A2. If it were an early, it would have small hatches. The M4A2 options, which were actually M4A3 (see (1)) were in service at Oki if I remember correctly

(4) Dont know bout cheek armor. Probably not, since this is a new tool kit, but if needed, you need to add it to righthand side only. This armor was added to make up for the loss of armor inside needed to house turret control equipment. Check usarmymodels.com for a sketch. Its in the articles sectoin

Hope this helps, MartinD
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-31-2005, 01:09 AM

Send a message via ICQ to mindphaser
Next major error is bad type of the links. Marine Shermans used tracks with steel shevron and not with rubber shevron which are in the box!
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-04-2005, 03:49 PM
vBench

That's easy to fix with some aftermarket bits. Kit tracks then can go in the spares box for a nice Normandy Sherman.